For the past 9 months, I have been working in the same role, embedded in a government unit. In consulting, that’s a long time to be doing the same thing. My role has been to build the capacity of a group of Afghans by advising them as they do work, which I’m experienced with. The past 3 months have been quite difficult for me, and I have complained about being bored, not having enough work to occupy my time, and not having any real impact. I have been bummed to think that my remaining time in Afghanistan would be more of the same work-wise.

Luckily, there is a short-term role within the project available for me to move into. This new role will be quite different. Instead of being mostly an adviser, I will be doing the work myself. That means I set the agenda, the pace, and much of the results, without having to convince a team (of guys who don’t want to listen to me) to follow my suggested approach. This work cuts across different departments and ministries so I will be going around and gathering information. Again, it’s a very independent role. This is the kind of work I really enjoy so I have high hopes for my remaining couple of months in Afghanistan.

