This afternoon I returned to Kabul after a quick 2-day trip to Delhi. It is just a short 2-hr flight each way, but mentally, it feels lightyears away. Upon landing, the reality of returning to a post-conflict environment hit me as soon as I turned on my cell phone…a text msg immediately came through from my security indicating that a grocery store that is half a block from my house was hit by a suicide attacker. This is a store that I and my colleagues often stop by, especially on a Friday (our day off).

Thankfully, it doesn’t appear that I knew anyone injured, but this small community of expats will be affected. Reports speculate wildly, but right now, they are saying 9 people were killed with others injured. It’s yet another unfortunate tragedy, but it hits a lot closer to (my) home.

