I don’t usually talk about current security concerns for two reasons. One, there’s really no reason to worry you. Two, security and the effects of war are common place to us. As I ride around town, my colleague (who I am using as a translator) tells me of an attack on the palace, where the gunmen were holed up, and how long the shooting went on for. Co-workers talk about a hotel that has been bombed more than once. We get text messages anytime there are confirmed or unconfirmed activities around town, from peaceful demonstrations to anything more.

Today, was my first bomb blast. It was fairly close to my work, and the first explosion I have heard loud and clear. We quickly got information detailing the situation through rumors, security personnel notices, and the internet.

I am relieved that there were no injuries and it was an accidental detonation, based on current accounts.

