Today, I met a colleague for lunch at a Japanese restaurant. I had the chicken teriyaki bento box. It was tasty, although surprisingly didn’t include any wasabi. (You can get some spicy food in Afghanistan, but the focus seems to be on very flavorful food, which I like.) And at the end of the meal, the waiter brought us each a whole, uncut peach.

I’m not sure what to make of that.

It isn’t unusual for restaurants to provide an unordered dessert (one of my favs gives chocolate cake at the end of your meal).

I understand that they wouldn’t give us fresh cut fruit (being that the place serves expats), but there was no sharp knife to remove the skin, which definitely needs to be washed with bottled water before it can be eaten.

We get a lot of apples, bananas, and mangos here so a peach is a treat. Obviously, I took it with me to wash and eat tonight.

Any thoughts on why a whole peach was given at a Japanese restaurant in Afghanistan?

