I don’t really like to shop. It feels like a pretty big waste of time, not to mention a waste of money. But I know that a lot of people are the exact opposite.

I just want to highlight this article. Research shows that just by making the decision to buy something our chances of buying more things increases substantially. That definitely applies to me. When I get a coupon and/or decide to splurge on something, I suddenly feel myself being enticed by other things. Suddenly, I also have a hankering for a fudgey brownie dessert or to try on a cute skirt.  If I hadn’t gone to the restaurant or walked through the mall (even to see a special occasion movie), I wouldn’t have wanted to spend that money.

On the other hand, I have almost the opposite reaction if I try to buy some small memento while I’m traveling. Seeing the rows of merchandise lined up in shop after shop makes me quicken my step to just “get out of here.”

And, it’s easy to avoid walking through the duty free shop…

