It was a pretty great road trip, and most days we got out and did some hiking. I have to tell you about my favorite place along the way to LA. I don’t want to write another post about something you already know about (hello Grand Canyon). I want to tell you about this little known place. I actually had quite a bit of trouble finding it on google maps. So I came prepared with step-by-step written directions, but the signage to get there from the interstate was spot on.

If you’re ever near Santa Fe or Albuquerque (that’s I-25 or I-40 respectively for those of you travel buffs), I highly recommend visiting Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument.

The website doesn’t do this site justice, nor does the cheap $5 entrance fee (which is covered by the National Park Pass if you have one).

If you remember my ravings about the Cappadocia region of Turkey, this landscape will look familiar. In some ways, it’s much better than Turkey because it is easily accessible, has clearly marked trails, and includes beautiful slot canyons, too. Of course, it isn’t as large as the region in Turkey, but then again, we can’t all fly to central Turkey easily.

My only wish was that the afternoon clouds that were forming didn’t make us hurry so much. It really is beautiful terrain.

And just in case you’re wondering, my second favorite place was the Santa Fe National Forest. I was quite surprised by how much I enjoyed being there. Probably half of my enthusiasm was just for being on my own two feet and in the trees after so much driving through the plains. I didn’t want to leave after roasting marshmallows by the fire and camping in the clear mountain air, but we were less than halfway to LA…

